Get Adobe Flash player

Winners of the 1939 Retro Hugo Awards  were presented August 14, 2014 in a ceremony at Loncon 3, the 72nd World Science Fiction Convention, held August 14- 18, 2014 in London, England. Mary Robinette Kowal and Robert Shearman were the hosts. 

Best Novel

The Sword in the Stone, T.H. White (Collins)


Carson of Venus, Edgar Rice Burroughs (Argosy 1/8/38 – 2/12/38)

Out of the Silent Planet, C.S. Lewis (The Bodley Head)

Galactic Patrol, E.E. Smith, Ph.D. (Astounding Stories 9/37 – 2/38)

The Legion of Time, Jack Williamson (Astounding Science-Fiction 5-7/38)


Best Novella

‘‘Who Goes There?’’, John W. Campbell writing as Don A. Stuart (Astounding Science-Fiction 8/38)


‘‘A Matter of Form’’, H.L. Gold (Astounding Science-Fiction 12/38)

‘‘The Time Trap’’, Henry Kuttner (Marvel Science Stories 11/38)

Anthem, Ayn Rand (Cassell)

‘‘Sleepers of Mars’’, John Wyndham writing as John Beynon (Tales of Wonder 3/38)


 Best Novelette

‘‘Rule 18’’, Clifford D. Simak (Astounding Science-Fiction 7/38)


‘‘Dead Knowledge’’, John W. Campbell writing as Don A. Stuart (Astounding Stories 1/38)

‘‘Pigeons From Hell’’, Robert E. Howard (Weird Tales 5/38)

‘‘Hollywood on the Moon’’, Henry Kuttner (Thrilling Wonder Stories 4/38)

‘‘Werewoman’’, C.L. Moore (Leaves #2 Winter ’38)


 Best Short Story

‘‘How We Went to Mars’’, Arthur C. Clarke (Amateur Science Stories 3/38)


‘‘Hollerbochen’s Dilemma’’, Ray Bradbury (Imagination! 1/38)

‘‘Hyperpilosity’’, L. Sprague de Camp (Astounding Science-Fiction 4/38)

‘‘The Faithful’’, Lester del Rey (Astounding Science-Fiction 4/38)

‘‘Helen O’Loy’’, Lester del Rey (Astounding Science-Fiction 12/38)


 Best Dramatic Presentation – Short

The War of the Worlds


Around the World in Eighty Days

A Christmas Carol




Best Professional Editor Short Form

John W. Campbell


Walter H. Gillings

Raymond A. Palmer

Mort Weisinger

Farnsworth Wright


 Best Professional Artist

Virgil Finlay


Margaret Brundage

Frank R. Paul

Alex Schomburg

H.W. Wesso


 Best Fanzine



Fantascience Digest

Fantasy News

Novae Terrae



Best Fan Writer

Ray Bradbury


Forrest J Ackerman

Arthur Wilson ‘‘Bob’’ Tucker

Harry Warner, Jr.

Donald A. Wollheim


1,307 valid ballots were received. Full statistics are available at the Loncon 3 website.

- See more at: http://www.locusmag.com/News/

Поделиться в соц. сетях

Share to Facebook
Share to Google Plus
Share to LiveJournal
Share to MyWorld
Share to Odnoklassniki
Share to Yandex

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>