Get Adobe Flash player

Winners of the 1941 Retro Hugo Awards, honoring work from 1940, were announced August 18, 2016 at a ceremony at MidAmericon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, held at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City MO, August 17-21, 2016.


The Retro Hugos are awarded 50, 75, or 100 years after a Worldcon in which the Hugos were not previously awarded.


Best Novel (352 nominating ballots)

Slan, A.E. Van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 12/40)

Best Novella (318)

“If This Goes On…”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/40)

Best Novelette (310)

“The Roads Must Roll”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction 6/40)

 Best Short Story (324)

“Robbie”, Isaac Asimov (Super Science Stories 9/40 as “Strange Playfellow”)

 Best Dramatic Presentation – Short (123)


 Best Dramatic Presentation – Long (250)


Best Graphic Story (92)

Batman #1 (Detective Comics, Spring 1940)

 Best Professional Editor Short Form (183)

John W. Campbell

 Best Professional Artist (86)*

Virgil Finlay

 Best Fanzine (63)

Futuria Fantasia

Best Fan Writer (70)

Ray Bradbury


*The Best Professional Artist category has six finalists due to a tie for fifth place.


**Added to ballot June 19, 2016. MidAmericon II announced a correction to the 1941 Retro Hugo Award finalists on June 19, 2016.


There were 481 nominating ballots received from members of Sasquan, MidAmericonII, and Worldcon 75.


Поделиться в соц. сетях

Share to Facebook
Share to Google Plus
Share to LiveJournal
Share to MyWorld
Share to Odnoklassniki
Share to Yandex

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>