Get Adobe Flash player


Author Mary Stewart, 97, died May 9, 2014 at home in Loch Awe Scotland.

Stewart is best known for her Merlin series of Arthurian fantasy novels: Mythopoeic Award winners The Crystal Cave (1970) and The Hollow Hills (1973), and The Last Enchantment (1979). Related Arthurian novels include The Wicked Day (1983) and The Prince and the Pilgrim (1995), and other novels with speculative elements include Touch Not the Cat (1976), A Walk in Wolf Wood (1980), and Thornyhold (1988). She was also well known for her suspenseful romance novels, publishing over 20 books in all. Her last novel was Rose Cottage (1997).

Mary Florence Elinor Rainbow was born September 17, 1916 in Sunderland England, and attended Durham University, graduating in 1938 with a bachelors, and earning a MA in 1941. She went on to teach English there through 1956. She was predeceased by husband Sir Frederick H. Stewart in 2001.


В понедельник (12.05.2014) в Швейцарии на 75-м году жизни скончался художник Ганс Рудольф Гигер, больше известный как автор визуальных эффектов к киноленте “Чужой” Ридли Скотта.

The winner of the 2014 Arthur C. Clarke Award was announced during a ceremony at the Royal Society in London, May 1, 2014, as part of the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival. 

Ancillary Justice, Anne Leckie (Orbit)


The other nominees were:


God’s War, Kameron Hurley (Del Rey UK)

The Disestablishment of Paradise, Phillip Mann (Gollancz)

Nexus, Ramez Naam (Angry Robot)

The Adjacent, Christopher Priest (Gollancz)

The Machine, James Smythe (Blue Door)

This year’s judges were Duncan Lawie and Ian Whates for the British Science Fiction Association, Sarah Brown and Lesley Hall for the Science Fiction Foundation, and Georgie Knight for SCI-FI-LONDON. Andrew M. Butler was chair of judges. Tom Hunter is awards director. Leckie received a £2014 prize and a commemorative engraved bookend.

See more at: http://www.locusmag.com/

It was announced on Friday, April 18, at Norwescon 37, in SeaTac, Washington, that the winner for the distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time during 2013 in the U.S.A. is:



COUNTDOWN CITY by Ben H. Winters (Quirk Books)


Special citation was given to:



SELF-REFERENCE ENGINE by Toh EnJoe, trans. Terry Gallagher (Haikasoru)


The Philip K. Dick Award is presented annually with the support of the Philip K. Dick Trust for distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States.  The award is sponsored by the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust and the award ceremony is sponsored by the NorthWest Science Fiction Society.  The 2013 award was given to LOST EVERYTHING by Brian Francis Slattery (Tor Books) with a special citation given to LOVESTAR by Andri Snær Magnason (Seven Stories Press). The judges for the 2014 Award were Elizabeth Bear (chair), Siobhan Carroll, Michael Kandel, Jamil Nasir, and Timothy Sullivan.

This year’s judges are Jon Armstrong, Ritch Calvin, Ellen Klages, Laura J. Mixon, and Michaela Roessner.



2018 Dragon Awards Winners...

2018 Dragon Awards Winners

October 17th, 2018

Category: НОВОСТИ

Winners of the 2018 Dragon Awards were announced at Dragon Con on[...]

Терминатор 2019!...

Терминатор 2019!

July 4th, 2018

Category: НОВОСТИ

Он вернулся! И должен попасть в кинотеатры 26 июля 2019 года.[...]

Харлан Эллисон (1934 - 2018)...

Харлан Эллисон (1934 – 2018)

June 29th, 2018

Category: НОВОСТИ

В Лос-Анджелесе 28 июня 2018 года скончался известный писатель-фа[...]

please_dont_slam_the_door ellison_wonderland 20111008_2062814092
Украина аномальная