Get Adobe Flash player


Winners of the 1941 Retro Hugo Awards, honoring work from 1940, were announced August 18, 2016 at a ceremony at MidAmericon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, held at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City MO, August 17-21, 2016.


The Retro Hugos are awarded 50, 75, or 100 years after a Worldcon in which the Hugos were not previously awarded.


Best Novel (352 nominating ballots)

Slan, A.E. Van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 12/40)

Best Novella (318)

“If This Goes On…”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/40)

Continue reading

Strugatsky, Arkady, & Boris Strugatsky : The Doomed City

(Chicago Review Press 978-1-61373-596-1, $18.99, 416pp, trade paperback, July 2016)

Nominal Publication Date: Fri 1 Jul 2016

The magnum opus of Russia’s greatest science fiction novelists translated into English for the first time

Arkady and Boris Strugatsky are widely considered the greatest of Russian science fiction masters, and their most famous work, Roadside Picnic, has enjoyed great popularity worldwide. Yet the novel they worked hardest on, that was their own favorite, and that readers worldwide have acclaimed as their magnum opus, has never before been published in English. The Doomed City was so politically risky that the Strugatsky brothers kept its existence a complete secret even from their closest friends for sixteen years after its completion in 1972. It was only published in Russia during perestroika in the late 1980s, the last of their works to see publication. It was translated into a host of European languages, and now appears in English in a major new effort by acclaimed translator Andrew Bromfield.

Continue reading


2017 Goodreads Choice Awards...

2017 Goodreads Choice Awards

December 11th, 2017

Category: НОВОСТИ

Winners of the 2017 Goodreads Choice awards for the “best books o[...]

2017 Galaxy Awards...

2017 Galaxy Awards

December 11th, 2017

Category: НОВОСТИ

Science Fiction World magazine and Storycom held the 28th 银河奖 Yin[...]

Объединение африканских фантастов...

Объединение африканских фантастов

November 20th, 2017

Category: НОВОСТИ

Африканские писатели-фантасты объединились для развития и продвиж[...]

l03 20111008_1694475718 50511934_8d2a26d668db0207b03ab8aca6b2f72d
Украина аномальная