Get Adobe Flash player


Winners of the 1941 Retro Hugo Awards, honoring work from 1940, were announced August 18, 2016 at a ceremony at MidAmericon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, held at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City MO, August 17-21, 2016.


The Retro Hugos are awarded 50, 75, or 100 years after a Worldcon in which the Hugos were not previously awarded.


Best Novel (352 nominating ballots)

Slan, A.E. Van Vogt (Astounding Science-Fiction 12/40)

Best Novella (318)

“If This Goes On…”, Robert A. Heinlein (Astounding Science-Fiction 2/40)

Continue reading

Strugatsky, Arkady, & Boris Strugatsky : The Doomed City

(Chicago Review Press 978-1-61373-596-1, $18.99, 416pp, trade paperback, July 2016)

Nominal Publication Date: Fri 1 Jul 2016

The magnum opus of Russia’s greatest science fiction novelists translated into English for the first time

Arkady and Boris Strugatsky are widely considered the greatest of Russian science fiction masters, and their most famous work, Roadside Picnic, has enjoyed great popularity worldwide. Yet the novel they worked hardest on, that was their own favorite, and that readers worldwide have acclaimed as their magnum opus, has never before been published in English. The Doomed City was so politically risky that the Strugatsky brothers kept its existence a complete secret even from their closest friends for sixteen years after its completion in 1972. It was only published in Russia during perestroika in the late 1980s, the last of their works to see publication. It was translated into a host of European languages, and now appears in English in a major new effort by acclaimed translator Andrew Bromfield.

Continue reading

The Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization of writers and publishers of horror and dark fantasy, tonight announced this year’s Bram Stoker Award® winners during a ceremony held as part of StokerCon 2016 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

 Paul Tremblay – A Head Full of Ghosts (William Morrow)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

 Nicole Cushing – Mr. Suicide (Word Horde)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

 John Dixon – Devil’s Pocket (Simon & Schuster)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

 Sam Weller, Mort Castle, Chris Ryall, & Carlos Guzman (editors) – Shadow Show: Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury (IDW Publishing)

Continue reading


The 2017 Bram Stoker Awards Winners...

The 2017 Bram Stoker Awards Winners

March 6th, 2018

Category: НОВОСТИ

The Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization of[...]

Le Guin Wins PEN America Literary Award...

Le Guin Wins PEN America Literary Award

February 28th, 2018

Category: НОВОСТИ

PEN America announced the winners of its Literary Awards includin[...]

Умерла Урсула Ле Гуин...

Умерла  Урсула Ле Гуин

January 29th, 2018

Category: НОВОСТИ

В США 22 января 2018 на 89-м году жизни скончалась знаменитая пис[...]

20111008_1647173815 gateway 50511928_7d3dd0cafc0e9af86fa4e187d9e5b1f6
Украина аномальная