Get Adobe Flash player


The Geffen Awards are presented by the Israeli Society for Science Fiction and Fantasy, and are named after the late Amos Geffen, one of the first editors and translators of sci-fi in Israel. In many ways, Amos Geffen’s work shaped the field of SF&F in Israel, and his influence is still indelible. The award is presented each year at the Israeli SF&F convention, known as ICon, and is voted on by the participants of the convention. The Geffen is currently awarded in five categories: 1. Best translated Science Fiction book 2. Best translated Fantasy book 3. Best original short story 4. Best original novel or short fiction collection 5. Best Translated Young Adult or Children SF&F Book (This category was added in 2013)

Continue reading

CSFFA congratulates the winners of the 2014 Prix Aurora Awards:

Best English Novel: A Turn of Light by Julie E. Czerneda, DAW Books
Best English YA Novel: The Rising by Kelley Armstrong, Doubleday Canada
Best English Short Fiction: “Ghost in the Machine” by Ryan McFadden, The Puzzle Box, EDGE
Best English Poem/Song: “Night Journey: West Coast” by Eileen Kernaghan , Tesseracts Seventeen: Speculating Canada from Coast to Coast to Coast, EDGE
Best English Graphic Novel: Rock, Paper, Cynic by Peter Chiykowski, webcomic
Best English Related Work: On Spec published by the Copper Pig Writers’ Society
Best Artist: Erik Mohr, cover art for ChiZine Publications
Best Fan Music: Chris Hadfield for his performance of Space Oddity
Best Fan Organizational: Randy McCharles, Chair and Programming, When Words Collide, Calgary
Best Fan Related Work: Robert Runté, “Why I Read Canadian Speculative Fiction: The Social Dimension of Reading”, Scholar Keynote

Continue reading

The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award to recognize stellar writing in two categories: adult and young adult. The awards are presented annually to Canadian writers with a speculative fiction novel or book-length collection of speculative fiction published any time during the previous calendar year. Named after the first novel by Phyllis Gotlieb (1926–2009), one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian science fiction, the awards consist of a cash award of Cdn$1,000 and a medallion which incorporates a specially designed “Sunburst” logo. The winners receive their awards in the fall of every year.

Winners for the 14th annual Sunburst Awards for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced:

Continue reading