Get Adobe Flash player


Vernor Vinge is the winner of the 2020 Robert A. Heinlein Award, given for “outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings that inspire the human exploration of space,” recognizing his body of work, including nine novels, more than 24 short stories, and many non-fiction articles. The award is administered by the Baltimore Science Fiction Society (BSFS).

The winner was chosen by a committee of SF authors chaired by Michael F. Flynn, and will receive a plaque, a sterling silver medallion, and two lapel pins, all featuring the likeness of Robert A. Heinlein. The award will be presented May 22, 2020 at the Renaissance Harborplace Hotel in Baltimore MD during the opening ceremonies of Balticon 54.


Author and editor Christopher Tolkien, 95, son and literary executor of J.R.R. Tolkien, died January 15, 2020 in Provence, France. Tolkien dedicated his life to his father’s work, editing and shepherding into print more than a score of the elder Tolkien’s books. He organized and edited the The Silmarillion (1977), Unfinished Tales (1980), and the 12 volumes of The History of Middle-earth (1983), along with The Children of Húrin (2007), The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrún (2009), The Fall of Arthur (2013), Beowulf: A Translation and Commentary (2014), Beren and Lúthien (2017), and The Fall of Gondolin (2018). He was chairman of the Tolkien Estate, Ltd. and a trustee of the Tolkien Charitable Trust. He also drew the iconic map of Middle-earth included in the 1954 edition of The Lord of the Rings, and the updated 1970s version. He retired as director of the estate in 2017.

Christopher John Reuel Tolkien was born November 21, 1924 in Leeds, England. He served in the Royal Air Force during World War II. Afterwards, he received a degree in English from Trinity College and later was a lecturer and tutor at New College, Oxford. Tolkien received the 2017 Bodley Medal in part for his work editing the unpublished texts of his father. The medal was given by the Bodleian Libraries at Oxford University, where the Tolkien Archive has been housed since 1973.

Tolkien was to married to Faith Faulconbridge from 1951-1967 and they had one child, Simon. He remarried the same year to Baillie Klass, with whom he had two children, Adam and Rachel. Tolkien eventually moved with his family to France and became a citizen there. He is survived by his wife, sister Priscilla, and three children.


The World Fantasy Awards winners for works published in 2018 have been announced. The awards were presented November 3, 2019 during World Fantasy 2019 (WFC) at the Marriott Los Angeles Airport Hotel in Los Angeles CA.

The Lifetime Achievement Awards, presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the fantasy field, went to Hayao Miyazaki and Jack Zipes.

The World Fantasy Awards winners are:

Continue reading

Dublin 2019: An Irish Worldcon, the 77th World Science Fiction Convention, announced the winners of the 2019 Hugo Awards at a ceremony on the evening of Sunday, August 18, 2019.


The Calculating Stars, by Mary Robinette Kowal (Tor)


Artificial Condition, by Martha Wells (Tor.com Publishing)


“If at First You Don’t Succeed, Try, Try Again,” by Zen Cho (B&N Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog, 29 November 2018)

Continue reading

Blackfish City by Sam J. Miller (Ecco) is this year’s John W. Campbell Memorial Award winner for the best science fiction novel published in 2018, and “When Robot and Crow Saved East St. Louis” by Annalee Newitz (Slate.com 12/18) is the winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for the best short fiction of 2018.

The awards were presented during the Campbell Conference Awards Banquet, held June 28-30, 2019 at the University of Kansas in Lawrence KS.